Disney Rice Krispie treats Ingredients- Are they Gluten Free or Allergy Friendly?

Save this post for later

Here’s the thing about Disney World… they have some awesome food! But as with all food, when you have allergies, you need to see the label. And Disney Rice Krispie treats ingredients are no exception to the rule!

Reporting in November 2022 that Malt is now being used again, as the ingredients have changed from a generic crisped rice in the Confectionaries, to the Rice Krispies that contain Malt. This is only for made in house options, as the premade rice crispies are still made without malt.

So it’s exciting to report that in 2021, ingredients have changed! This post is now “old news” as we reported, the Gluten Free status on the Crisped Rice at Disney World has changed!

Are Disney Rice Krispie treats gluten free?

Some of Disney Rice Krispie treats, known as Crisped Rice, are made free from gluten. So as Disney goes, they are ‘gluten friendly’. With the new ingredient change, the malt has been removed in prepackaged items. However, some of them are still made with Malt.

This means that most people with a gluten allergy (celiac, FPIES, EoE etc) will not be able to indulge in the crisped rice. But many people with higher tolerance for cross contamination or an intolerance will be able to enjoy the mickey shaped crisped rice.

Starbucks at Disney (see the locations here) has the gluten free crisped rice available inside Disney! This is a great alternative.

Learn More: we have an assortment of restaurant reviews and recommendations for eating Gluten Free at Disney World.

Or head to the eGuides for super quick planning of all the best places to eat, secret menu items, and fun snacks for your vacation!

Disney World News for Free-From Foodies

The latest Disney World news sent straight to your inbox every Friday (unless there’s no update for that week!). Covering Gluten Free, Top Food Allergies, Restaurant Openings, Product Availability at Disney and more.

    We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.

    ***As Always, this is my personal experience. You should check with Restaurant Staff to see if these items are available for You and Your food needs.

    New Disney Rice Krispie Ingredients after the ingredient change in 2021

    Here’s the ingredients from the image below.

    Rice Cereal ( rice, sugar, corn syrup, salt) Marshmallows ( corn syrup, sugar, modified corn starch, gelatin) margarine (palm oil, mono-and diglycerides, sunflower lecithin, citric acid (preservative) natural flavor, beta carotene (color), vitamin a palmitate) vanilla extract (vanilla bean alcohol, sugar)

    These Rice Krispies (or crisped rices) are made in a different facility and shipped into Disney World. They are found in most shops and resort quick serves. These are different than the ones made at the Confectionaries at Disney World.

    Disney Considers them Gluten Friendly.

    Here’s how Disney lists it on their mobile ordering above (and I don’t recommend mobile ordering with food allergies/celiac/severe intolerances as they are really bad about labeling cross contamination!) Learn more about why I say no to mobile ordering plus how to do it safely in my instagram post here and embed below.

    Old Disney Rice Krispie Ingredients from 2019

    Ok, so here’s the thing.

    Every person is unique, so what might be safe for me (or for you!) would not be safe for another person.

    gluten free rice krispie with red bow

    Most importantly, you need to make sure that you aren’t nonchalant about allergies with the public. If you are intolerant, don’t recant and say you can eat gluten, or that it’s no big deal- because for many of us it is!

    Here’s the ingredients from July 2019. (I also checked in June 2019 and it was the same and confirmed again in July 2020!)

    pay special attention to the ‘cereal treat’ and not so much to the other ingredients, as you can get the Rice Krispie treat plain.

    It says they contain Milk and Soy, and there is an allergy warning for Milk, Eggs, Soy, Peanuts, Tree Nuts and Wheat.

    Where are they made? Is it a dedicated Facility?

    Looking at the above ingredient list, and speaking with the kind cast members at Disney World, we know that the Rice Krispies are produced in a facility that is NOT certified gluten free.

    However, they do take every precaution to clean the equipment and facilities to prevent exposure (we know that gluten can hang in the air for a while though!).

    So what’s the Gluten Free Disney Rice Krispie Treat verdict?

    It’s really up to you! Hopefully, you enjoy your trip regardless of what you get to it!

    We know that on a despite not having a gluten warning on rice krispies the brand OR the goods at the store, Kelloggs has said on a different site that their malt flavoring does contain gluten.

    For those of you with a non negotiable allergy, Mickey Rice Krispie Bars are not Gluten Free or made in a safe facility.

    What can you eat?

    You CAN get the Marshmellow Bar from Starbucks! They have it in all of the locations at every park. It’s a yummy and safe prepackaged treat. Not as cute since it’s not mickey shaped, but it also won’t hurt you!

    You can also grab these Sweet Street Gluten Free Marshmellow Bars from Blaze Pizza in Disney Springs!

    Want to know what you CAN eat as a gluten free foodie in the dessert department? Check out the top 5 Gluten Free sweet treats at Disney World.

    But basically…

    if you can have the rice krispies, enjoy!

    If you can’t have the rice krispie treats, check out the alternatives above at Starbucks and Blaze Pizza, or head over to Erin Mckennas for some out of this world bakery desserts!

    Save this post for later

    3 thoughts on “Disney Rice Krispie treats Ingredients- Are they Gluten Free or Allergy Friendly?”

    1. Unfortunately rice Krispies are made with malt flavoring.. Which is gluten. I’m still waiting on rice Krispies to get their act together And go completely GF. Until then, I’ll eat my Gluten free marshmallow dream bar.

      • It is sad and takes such a yummy treat away from those that could have it! But YES- Starbucks has a safe rice krispie treat and it is available in the parks!


    Leave a Comment